Trio reunites for an evening of classics

Trio reunites for an evening of classics

Three exceptional musicians will reunite in Bangkok for an enchanting evening of classical music, “London Tokyo Piano Trio”, at Sala Sudasiri Sobha concert hall, Lat Phrao 41 yaek 7-2, on Sunday starting at 4pm.

Rhys Watkins, a member of the first violin section of the London Symphony Orchestra, will be joined by cellist Rowena Calvert, founding member of the international award-winning Cavaleri String Quartet, and pianist Yosuke Osada who began his diverse career in the Juilliard School, New York.

The evening will open with Handel/Halvorsen’s Passacaglia before the seasoned and passionate trio will explore two of the most revered works from the piano trio repertoire — Schubert’s Piano Trio No.1 In B Flat Major and Rachmaninov’s Trio Elegiaque No.1 In G Minor.German composer Robert Schumann once said: “One glance at Schubert’s Trio and the troubles of our human existence disappear and all the world is fresh and bright again.” Although it was written in the composer’s final months which were filled with illness and melancholy, it is a lively buoyant work, with unrivalled lyricism throughout.In contrast, on the day that Tchaikovsky died, Rachmaninov composed his impassioned funeral march Elegiac. The year 1893 also marked Rachmaninov’s graduation and this single expressive movement can also be heard as a lament to his mentor, pianist Nikolaj Rubinstein.

 29,768 ,  79 

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Siam Scope Magazine